et puis
disclaimer: this is the life and times of meredith r. mistletoe. i'm making a slight attempt to disguise my identity and hide things that i write about and pretend i don't feel things i do. but if you read this and i don't know you read it, then you read it at your own risk. and you should let me know you're reading it... especially because a lot of the time things need clarifying or aren't quite true anymore or etc etc etc.

note: potential employers: please do not judge me on my diaryland. that's lame.

.

2006.11.03 2:07 p.m.

Ooo, looks like I'm collecting tonnes of air-miles. Maybe someday I'll have enough to get something fancy. Air-miles make me spend too much money on things I wouldn't normally buy. I think I'm going to get my brother only clothes for Christmas. Boy is he going to be happy. I guess as his older sister, I should probably get him something cool.. but any attempt I've made at cooling him up has failed. Failed badly. The other night Dana and I helped Niki move into a new house. The room she was living in with Nathanael and Sophia and Jo was so, so ridiculously small. Painfully small, like no room for a double bed small. So she moved in with some craigslisters in a big shared house a little further away. Her room is huge. It's HUGE. It is possibly bigger than my apartment. And it's good looking with giant windows and a fireplace and those heating grates I like. Her roommates seem to be big big geeks... but with a room that big, well, you never have to leave. Getting a new room is always exciting. Oh the decorating possibilities. I really wish I had money. My apartment would seriously be the coolest place ever if I had money. Wow, I say that a lot.

Work is still fun. Yesterday Gillian and I gossiped about Geordie.. but as far as gossip goes, it was pretty benign. I like Gillian a lot, then we spent the rest of the evening talking about cute boys. Well, actually we worked pretty hard. It was busy - filled right up for dinner.
I like it when I know what's going on and I'm in charge of directing traffic and I can answer everyone's questions and do paperwork about it and I feel competent and able. It was my first shift off training, and there's still lots I don't know, but for the first time I felt like I wasn't just in the way. Useful.

Our one manager, Jeremy, is a bit of a pain. I really think he doesn't like me. And I'm not sure why. Maybe because I'm overly-confident... I think he wants to see me struggle so that he can correct me. He's the only one of the managers who corrects staff in front of customers or gets really worked up about things or makes you stay much later than necessary. I really had nothing to do (AT ALL) past ten but I stayed until midnight. He also is fairly condescending and into asks questions and doesn't wait for answers.
It's like the other managers, Pat and Matthew, are sympathetic to our plight. They wouldn't want to be bored or frustrated any more than we do. They want us to be able to leave as soon as possible and to be able to have fun. And, especially with hosting, having fun is actually the most important thing. Because our only job really is to interact with guests and make them have fun. And they sense right away if we are unhappy.

I'm a big fan of Pat, I think he's very funny, and it's usually subtle and unexpected. We spend a lot of time talking about the prairies. I also feel like he's pretty unhappy with this job, so I feel for him. He has a bit of sadness about him.

My crush, K, and I are secretly in love. The best kind of love; that which is mostly platonic and will never be actualized. He seems pretty fond of his girlfriend. For realz.
I do not understand commitment. Everyone has a crush on K, in a nice, good way.
Kristin (to me in his presence): If K didn't have a girlfriend I'd be all over him
K (very polite and charming): oh, well, thank you, I would love to have a go at you as well.

If everyone had a crush on me, I'd be all over them. The only thing standing between me and slutitude is other people.
He must know that she's better than anyone else he could have. That would be an excellent thing to be sure of. Wow, that would be a good feeling I think. It also allows for extreme self-confidence. Knowing that you are going home to the best person and the best person is coming home to you.

I'm trying hard to be interested in the previously masked crush. But I'm not sure if he's my type. I just want something I can make attempts to push too far and get too involved with.
I'm constantly trying to cause drama and break my own heart!!!

Tonight I have a staff meeting and then a coat-check shift, which should be a nice break from all the running around. And I could make some cash moneys. The best format for money to slip away in...

If I can get around to getting changed and ready then hopefully I can pick up some stocking stuffers before-hand.

previously - and then

*oh random entry*

all the diarylands. - 2008.02.21
I move my head. - 2008.01.27
read the other one. - 2008.01.21
was Medium? - 2008-01-17
Or maybe I won't. - 2008.01.15

diarylanded oldered profiled emailed
guestbooked noted surveyed surveyed2 pictured

myspaced